New alert generated as Note Added to existing alert

notifications

Hello All,
We use a combination of OpsGenie and Kapacitor.
Kapacitor sends API alerts to OpsGenie and Opsgeniw sends email notifications to all.
This is working fine.

Current Behaviour:
When a new alert is generated from Kapacitor an email comes from OpsGenie describing the alert with a subject line of the alert.
So if another alert comes from the same alert describing the change in state. OpsGenie sends a note added mail with the same subject line instead of sending the mail with the new subject line.

Expected behaviour:
I want the new alert to be generated with its own subject instead of having the subject of the previous alert.

I know this can be managed in the settings of Note added in integration section.
I am new to OpsGenie Can Any one please guide me on how this can be managed.

Hi,

Unfortunately, we don’t know a lot about the Kapacitor integration, as it is not created by us and is using our generic API. That means we are not in control of the logic - it’s the piece of code on the Kapacitor side.

That being said, I think I can share some OpsGenie mechanics with you to help you understand better why that could be happening:

In OpsGenie, we have a feature called Deduplication. Every time an alert is being created, OpsGenie will check, if there is an alert already open with the same ‘alias’ value. If yes - the count is increased instead of a new alert. Deduplication should be used for the very same alerts, hence the content is not updated. Think of the Alias as an ID - and usually it is an ID from the other system. Let me share our creation flow to visualize this:

What you are experiencing is definitely this - somehow, Kapacitor is sending the “new” alert with the very same alias as the “old” alert, hence the count is increase and the message is not updated.